What police have confirmed about the mass shootings in South Africa
Two mass shootings in South Africa hours apart have left 27 people dead and 26 in hospital with gunshot wounds. No arrests have been made in either, and police say the motive is unknown in both.
| Wedela, Gauteng | Lwandle, Western Cape | |
|---|---|---|
| Venue | Tavern, Extension 3, West Rand District | Shisanyama, Lwandle, Strand |
| When | Saturday 26 September 2026, about 21:30 | Sunday 27 September 2026, about 01:46 |
| Attackers | Eight unidentified men with AK-47 rifles and pistols | Number not stated by police |
| Killed | 17, being 13 men and four women, all at the scene | 10, five at the scene and five in hospital |
| Wounded | 15 | 11 |
| Total shot | 32 | 21 |
| Charges opened | 17 murder, 15 attempted murder, 2 malicious damage to property | Murder and attempted murder |
| Arrests | None | None |
| Motive | Unknown | Unknown |
At Wedela, southwest of Johannesburg near Carletonville, police say eight armed men arrived while patrons were drinking inside and outside, opened fire on those outside, then entered and continued shooting. The suspects allegedly searched some patrons and took their cellphones before fleeing in two unidentified vehicles. Two vehicles were set alight.
Gauteng police spokesperson Captain Tintswalo Sibeko confirmed the detail. The police statement says plainly that “the motive for the shooting is unknown at this stage”.
At Lwandle, gunmen entered a venue that sells braaied meat and fired on patrons. Western Cape police spokesperson Brigadier Novela Potelwa said “detectives are hard at work in search of the perpetrators”, and that the identities of the dead will be released once next of kin are informed.
Western Cape Provincial Commissioner Lieutenant General Sizakhele Dyantyi has established a multidisciplinary team led by serious and violent crime detectives, and deployments in Lwandle have been increased. Gauteng police have mobilised detectives and specialised units.
Fifty-three people were shot, not twenty-seven
The figure being reported is the death toll. It is not the number of people shot.
Across the two venues, 32 people were shot at Wedela and 21 at Lwandle. That is 53 people, of whom 26 are alive and in hospital. Those totals are Southafriworld’s, added from the two separate police statements.
The distinction matters because the toll is provisional in a specific way, not merely in the usual sense.
Five of the ten people who died at Lwandle died after reaching medical facilities. The toll in that incident had already moved from five to ten within hours of the shooting.
There is a documented precedent. After a tavern shooting in Orlando, Soweto in July 2022, 23 people were shot. Twelve died at the scene, three more died in hospital, and a fourth died three days later, taking the final toll to 16 from an initial 12.
Twenty-six people with gunshot wounds are in hospital tonight. The figure of 27 is where the count stands, not where it will necessarily end.
Four incidents in six days
The two weekend attacks did not happen in isolation.
| Date | Place | Killed | Wounded |
|---|---|---|---|
| 22 September | KwaMakhutha, KwaZulu-Natal | 11 | 3 |
| 26 September | Khayelitsha, Western Cape | 4 | Not stated |
| 26 September | Wedela, Gauteng | 17 | 15 |
| 27 September | Lwandle, Western Cape | 10 | 11 |
| Total | 42 | At least 29 |
The KwaMakhutha attack, at a house south of Durban, killed 11 people including a woman police believed was pregnant. Three gunmen were involved and no arrests had been made. One subsequent report places that toll at 12, which Southafriworld could not confirm and which is flagged for checking.
The Khayelitsha incident, in which four men were shot and killed on Saturday night, is reported with less detail than the others and no police statement was located.
Forty-two people killed across four incidents in six days, with at least 29 more in hospital. That count is Southafriworld’s from the available police accounts, and the Khayelitsha and KwaMakhutha entries rest on thinner sourcing than the two main incidents.
This is the third mass shooting Southafriworld has reported this year following the Johannesburg shooting in which 12 people were killed, and it comes after soldiers were deployed alongside police to violent hotspots in March.
What police have not said, and what others are supplying
Both police statements say the motive is unknown. That is worth holding onto, because the gap is already being filled.
International coverage has attached a standing explanation to these attacks, describing South African tavern and shebeen shootings as linked to gang rivalries, extortion, or disputes over illegal liquor sales. That is accurate as general background about a category of crime. It is not a finding about Wedela or Lwandle, and no South African police statement has made one.
The Wedela account contains a detail that does not sit easily with any single theory. Eight men arriving with assault rifles is not the profile of a robbery. Stopping to search patrons and take cellphones is not the profile of a targeted killing. Police have not reconciled the two, and neither should anyone else on the record so far.
Yusuf Abramjee, a crime expert, told Reuters that South Africa has a serious illegal firearms problem and that “authorities need to look at the wider networks behind the violence” rather than only the immediate perpetrators.
Acting Minister of Police Firoz Cachalia has called for a national conversation about violence around liquor outlets.
What happens next
Anyone with information can contact the Crime Stop line on 08600 10111 or submit it anonymously through the MySAPS app. Western Cape police have said information will be treated in strict confidence.
No victim in either incident has been publicly named. Police in both provinces have said identities will be released only once families have been notified.
Two manhunts are under way for suspects whose number is confirmed in one case and unstated in the other. Twenty-six people are in hospital. The charges on the Gauteng docket stand at 17 counts of murder and 15 of attempted murder, and both dockets remain open, with the same fear of crime that has reshaped how South Africans live now attached to two more communities.
HOW WE REPORTED THIS CROSS-CHECKED
- This article was built from the South African Police Service statement on the Wedela shooting issued on 27 September 2026 and from the Western Cape police statement on the Lwandle shooting issued the same day, both read in full, together with the charge sheet detail the Gauteng police published.
- The combined totals of 53 people shot and 26 people wounded were calculated by adding the dead and wounded figures in the two separate police statements, because both statements report their own incident only and no national reconciled figure had been published.
- The six-day sequence was assembled from police accounts of four separate incidents, and the Khayelitsha and KwaMakhutha entries are marked as less fully sourced than the two main incidents rather than being presented as equivalent.
- The provisional nature of the death toll was established from the police account itself, in which five of the ten Lwandle victims died after reaching hospital, and from the documented course of a comparable tavern shooting in Soweto in July 2022 in which the toll rose over three days.
- No victim or suspect is named because none has been publicly identified, descriptions of injuries were deliberately excluded, generic explanations for tavern violence circulating in international coverage were not adopted because police have stated the motive is unknown in both cases, and no comment was sought from any party.
- This article was drafted with AI assistance and the facts, figures and quotations were checked against the primary source by the editor before publication.
























