What the Gautrain new operator announcement actually says
The Gauteng Provincial Government announced on Wednesday, 30 September 2026, that it has concluded the process to appoint a Gautrain new operator for the next 15 years.
It did not say who the operator is.
The statement set out what the next phase will include: a larger fleet, higher service frequency, longer operating hours, upgraded trains, expanded bus routes and station improvements. It named no company or consortium, gave no contract value, and attached no implementation dates.
News24 has reported that the winning bidder is a consortium that includes a French multinational which is the leading shareholder of the previous operator. The province has not confirmed that. For background, the outgoing Bombela Operating Company is a subsidiary of RATP Dev, which holds a majority stake in it. Southafriworld could not independently establish the identity of the incoming operator.
This is a state-owned asset valued at about R45 billion, and the contract runs to 2041.
The timing: the holdover ran out first
The announcement lands at the end of a schedule that has slipped repeatedly.
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 28 September 2006 | Concession agreement signed with Bombela Concession Company |
| June 2010 | Gautrain enters service |
| 5 November 2023 | Request for Proposals issued for a new 15-year concession |
| 3 May 2024 | Tender closes |
| March 2026 | Gautrain chief executive says the appointment process is about six months behind schedule |
| 27 March 2026 | The 19½-year Bombela concession ends |
| 28 March 2026 | The system is handed to the province and a six-month holdover begins with the incumbent operator |
| 28 September 2026 | The six-month holdover period lapses |
| 30 September 2026 | Province announces the process is concluded, without naming the operator |
Counting six months from 28 March gives 28 September. The announcement came two days after that. The arithmetic is Southafriworld’s, and the province has not said whether the holdover was extended in the interim.
Gautrain chief executive Tshepo Kgobe said in March that the appointment process was running about six months behind schedule, and that strict processes were in place to keep the search transparent and compliant. Premier Panyaza Lesufi told the State of the Province Address that the province was finalising the concessionaire for the next 15 years.
The tender closed in May 2024. The announcement came 28 months later.
Everything promised, nothing dated
The commitments in the announcement are substantial. None has a date.
| Commitment | Detail | Date given |
|---|---|---|
| Fleet increase | From 24 four-car trains to 32 | None |
| Service frequency | To increase | None |
| Operating hours | To be extended | None |
| Train interiors | Passenger amenities upgraded | None |
| Bus routes | Expanded and better integrated with trains | None |
| Stations | Digital services expanded, full backup power installed | None |
| Operator identity | Not disclosed | Not given |
The province said the interventions “will be implemented progressively over the 15-year period”, which is accurate and is also the whole difficulty. A commuter waiting for longer operating hours has no way of knowing whether that means 2027 or 2039.
The fleet increase is the most concrete item. Eight additional four-car trains on a base of 24 is a third more rolling stock, though how much extra capacity that delivers depends on the frequency changes, which are also undated.
The scale is worth keeping in proportion. The Gautrain has carried more than 216 million passenger trips since 2010, which averages about 13.5 million a year, or roughly 37 000 a day. Those averages are Southafriworld’s arithmetic. Gauteng’s minibus taxi sector moves many multiples of that, as became visible during the taxi strike in July.
The R2.79 billion question
The number that decides what this costs Gauteng taxpayers was not in the announcement.
The original concession carried a patronage guarantee, under which the province made up the difference when ridership fell below agreed levels. In 2023/24 that mechanism paid R2.79 billion to Bombela.
Whether the new 15-year agreement contains a patronage guarantee, and on what terms, has not been stated. Neither has the contract value.
There is one favourable fact on the record. The Gautrain’s initial development costs were fully repaid by the end of the old concession, which means the next phase begins without that debt. The provincial government has said the conclusion of the process creates an opportunity to unlock further value from the asset.
What it has not said is who captures that value, and on what split.
What happens to the expansion
Separate from the operating contract, the province has gazetted expansion routes under the Gauteng Rapid Rail Integrated Network, published in March 2026.
Proposed new stations include Jabulani, Roodepoort, Lanseria, Cradle, Smart City, Samrand, Fourways, Sunninghill and Olievenhoutbosch, connecting existing infrastructure to areas including Randburg and Lanseria airport. Trade reporting puts the full programme at 19 new stations, more than 150 km of additional track and around R120 billion in investment, figures the province has not confirmed in these terms.
One announced plan has gone quiet. Gau-Express, an e-hailing service intended to solve last-mile travel to and from stations, was described by Gautrain Management Agency senior executive manager Albi Modise in May 2026 as embryonic and at a conceptual stage. Nothing further has been published, and it would land in a sector already working through operating licence requirements for e-hailing.
Three things are outstanding. The operator has not been named. The contract value and the patronage arrangements have not been published. And not one of the service improvements announced on Wednesday has a date attached to it.
HOW WE REPORTED THIS CROSS-CHECKED
- This article was built from the Gauteng Provincial Government statement of 30 September 2026 announcing the conclusion of the process to appoint a Gautrain operator for the next 15 years, together with the documented record of the previous concession and its expiry.
- The concession timeline was assembled separately, from the 2006 signing through the Request for Proposals of November 2023, the tender close of May 2024, the concession expiry of 27 March 2026 and the six-month holdover that followed, so the announcement could be placed against the schedule it was meant to meet.
- The calculation that the holdover lapsed on 28 September 2026, two days before the announcement, is Southafriworld arithmetic from the stated start date and stated duration, and it is labelled as such.
- Each commitment in the announcement was checked for an implementation date, and the finding that none carries one is reported as a table rather than as an assertion, so readers can see the basis for it.
- The identity of the winning consortium is not stated by the province and is reported here only as attributed to other reporting, with the documented shareholding of the outgoing operating company given as background rather than as confirmation. No comment was sought from any party.
- This article was drafted with AI assistance and the facts, figures and quotations were checked against the primary source by the editor before publication.

























